FIREARMS SAFETY EDUCATION

  • Firearms Safety Course (CFSC) - Non-Restricted Firearms 
  • Canadian Restricted Firearms Safety Course (CRFSC) - Restricted Firearms 


CFSC and CRFSC Courses
Quality firearms safety training is provided by certified Firearms Instructors and Examiners who are designated by the Chief Firearms Office (CFO). The CFSC and CRFSC courses are designed to familiarize you with the safe, effective and responsible handling of firearms and ammunition. As preparation for the legally required tests, the courses will cover the various types of firearms and ammunition, the laws concerning firearms ownership, storage, and transportation, as well as basic firearm operation and safe handling.

Successful completion of the associated exams is compulsory for the application of a Possession and Acquisition License. The entire course and test are required for youth wishing to apply for a Minors License and for those persons seeking employment in the security field.

Canadian Firearms Safety Course (CFSC)
Non-restricted firearms (Rifle & Shotgun) 

Session 1 - Short Code #: 857
  Friday, October 12, 2018 5:00pm to 9:00pm
  Saturday, October 13, 2018 8:00am to 7:00pm
     
  Fee:  $150/per session  
     
Session 2 - Short Code #: 866
  Friday, November 30, 2018 5:00pm to 9:00pm
  Saturday, December 1, 2018 8:00am to 7:00pm
     
  Fee:  $150/per session  

 

Combined Non Restricted and Restricted Course (CFSC and CRFSC)
(Non Restricted and Restricted on same weekend) 

This combo course offers the opportunity to complete both courses and associated exams in one weekend. Participants must be able to attend Friday evening, and both Saturday and Sunday.

Short Code #: 854
  Friday, September 21, 2018     5:00pm to 9:00pm
  Saturday, September 22, 2018     8:00am to 7:00pm
  Sunday, September 23, 2018   8:00am to 7:00pm
  Fee:  $260/per session  
     
Short Code #: 855
  Friday, September 28, 2018     5:00pm to 9:00pm
  Saturday, September 29, 2018     8:00am to 7:00pm
  Sunday, September 30, 2018   8:00am to 7:00pm
  Fee:  $260/per session  
     
Short Code #: 864
  Friday, October 26, 2018     5:00pm to 9:00pm
  Saturday, October 27, 2018     8:00am to 7:00pm
  Sunday, October 28, 2018   8:00am to 7:00pm
  Fee:  $260/per session  
     
Short Code #: 865
  Friday, November 23, 2018     5:00pm to 9:00pm
  Saturday, November 24, 2018     8:00am to 7:00pm
  Sunday, November 25, 2018   8:00am to 7:00pm
  Fee:  $260/per session  
     
Short Code #: 867
  Friday, December 14, 2018     5:00pm to 9:00pm
  Saturday, December 15, 2018     8:00am to 7:00pm
  Sunday, December 16, 2018   8:00am to 7:00pm
  Fee:  $260/per session  
     


Advance registration and payment is required. Register early as these courses sell out well in advance. Cancellation or transfers are subject to $20 admin. fee and can only be considered if requested in writing a minimum of 7 days prior to the course date.

It is strongly recommended that students purchase manuals in advance of their course(s) so they have time to read or review the material prior to attending the course.  

Study manuals can be downloaded on-line at http://publications.gc.ca/site/eng/9.801815/publication.html

The manuals can also  be purchased from the Firearms Safety Education Service of Ontario (FSESO) by calling toll free 1-877-322-2345 and must do so at least 10 days in advance of the course in order to receive it in time.