Be Active in Your Association

Help us shape the future of the RA


The RA has a long and proud history of delivering excellent recreation, sport, fitness and hospitality services that promote healthy living for our members and the community at large. As a not-for-profit association, a Board of Directors made up of 16 members elected from the membership governs the RA. Every two years, positions on the Board are open for competition and this year is an election year.


As an invested member, your role in the election of board members is essential in shaping the RA’s future.


I am very pleased to share that we have had an amazing response to our call for nominations to the RA Board of Directors. Fifteen (15) RA members were nominated and submitted their application to run for election to fill eleven (11) vacancies. The skill sets and competencies of the applicants is impressive and indicates their strong desire to be part of the RA’s transformation, re-imagining our storied organization into a viable and sustainable not-for-profit organization that will assume a leadership role in this vibrant community. I encourage you to take the time to acquaint yourselves with each of the candidates, their skills and areas of expertise prior to making your decision about who is best qualified to assume the governance of this amazing association.


I wish to thank all of those who have thrown their hat into the ring.  Together we will make this organization the best it can be.


Gilles Vézina

Chair, Nomination and Election Committee




Voting Period:

November 13 to 27, 2017

All members who are eligible to vote should have received their voter's information.  If you have not received your voter's information, please contact Blair Alexander at  or 613-736-6224.  Blair can be reached weekdays between 9am and 4pm.


Click here to read the Election Communiqué including instruction on how to vote on-line.  Cast your vote on-line voting at:

To be eligible to vote, you must be a Pioneer, Life, Regular, Non-Government or Family member at least eighteen (18) years of age in

good standing.

Candidates  – Vote for up to eleven (11) candidates. 

Biographies and Contribution Statements have been published as submitted by the candidates.


Jump to: Joanne Baptiste  |  Peter Becke  |  Gary J. Boutelier  |  Jane Brownrigg  |  Robert Butko  |  Robert (Bob) Elliott  |  Bruce Handel  |  Karen Jackson  |  Jason Loney  |  Phillip Martin  |  Bruce Miller  |  Shawn W. Moher  |  Catharine (Cathy) Pearson  |  Dennis Seebach  |  Meg Wilson


The following documents (in PDF) are available to download (for reference purposes only).


Candidate Information Kit  |  Pochette d'information à l'usage des candidat-e-s

RA Centre  |  2451 Riverside Drive, Ottawa, ON K1H 7X7 | 613.733.5100 |